Mars food products

Discussion in 'Hanafi Fiqh' started by Aqdas, May 20, 2007.

Draft saved Draft deleted
  1. Aqdas

    Aqdas Staff Member

    great. now we won't be forced to choose between permissibility and piety.
  2. faqir

    faqir Veteran

  3. Harisa

    Harisa Guest

    I asked Imam Tahir al-Kiani and he says that animal rennet from a halal animal slaughtered in a non-halal method is permitted by Imam Abu Hanifa but his two pupils say it is not permitted. In short, if you are Hanafi, the Fatwa is of permissibility - the Taqwa is of abstinence.
    I asked him his own opinion and he binds himself on abstinence.

    So, if you're a Hanafi, you may go for it, but I'd rather not... helps me watch my figure too {;-)
  4. Muslimah

    Muslimah New Member

  5. Muslimah

    Muslimah New Member


    Yes i heard that mars bar is not halal i have a list which was sent to me by a friend on halal foods, i'll find it and InshAllah will post it.

    Walikum Aslaam
  6. Aqdas

    Aqdas Staff Member

    the scots will be disappointed! battered mars-bars and all that.
    Last edited: May 14, 2007
  7. KM

    KM Active Member

    fried mars bars maybe! ;-)
  8. Aqdas

    Aqdas Staff Member

    they're banning burgers and fries, are they?
  9. KM

    KM Active Member

    i guess avaidance would be better in matters where there is no unue hardship.

    in that case it may also assist in the world's obesity problem ;-)
    (although it may be very difficult for me and others to abstain)
  10. Aqdas

    Aqdas Staff Member

  11. KM

    KM Active Member

    You may find it interesting to read:

    "Veggies vow to boycott Mars bars"

    Vegetarians plan to boycott Mars bars after their recipe changed to include animal products.
    Other big brands from the same company -including Snickers, Galaxy, Twix, Bounty, Milky Way, Maltesers and Minstrels - are also affected.
    From this month, chocolate manufacturer Masterfoods has started using rennet - an enzyme taken from the stomachs of newborn calves - to make whey for its products.
    It had previously been relying on a readily available - but more expensive - vegetarian alternative to rennet.

    The firm makes three million Mars bars a day in its factory in Slough.
    Vegetarian Society spokesman Liz O'Neill said: "People will not like the idea that you cannot make a Mars bar without killing a calf.
    "We have had no good, clear answer from Masterfoods why they have to use animal products when all these items were previously produced using vegetarian alternatives.
    "But we can no longer describe any of them as suitable for vegetarians."

    Any bar with a 'best before' date after October 1 this year is now no longer classed as vegetarian.

    The firm is offering a refund to anyone who has bought a bar but does not wish to eat it.

Share This Page