Use of Yeast in Bread Making and Ethanol

Discussion in 'Hanafi Fiqh' started by Juwayni, Feb 7, 2020.

Draft saved Draft deleted
  1. SaadSohail

    SaadSohail Active Member

    To be honest so far what i have read on this whole issue is conflicting. (This doesn't mean in anyway what so ever that there is no answer to this or the issue is really conflicting to begin with and only appears as such to me.)

    This is what I have read on the issue so far:

    According to Opinion A:
    1)Any alcohal found even in small traces in the food is haram regardless of the source from which it is derived. They base this on multiple evidence such as "that which intoxicates in large quantities, is prohibited even in lesser quantities."

    According to Opinion B:
    1) Alcohal which is derived from grapes, dates is Haram. Whereas that which is produced from other than it is NOT haram*.
    2) And therefore they say since the Alcohal produced in-situ from the fermentation of Soya beans and wheat (not from grapes or dates) or incident formation of alcohal during making of certain foods would be permissible as long as it is:
    1)Not being used to intoxicate.
    2)Not being used in an amount that intoxicates;
    3)Not being used as intoxicants are used;
    4)Not being used for vain (i.e. useless) purposes.
    6)from sources other than grapes, dates..
    The quantities produced in the bread or (soya sauce???) donot lead to intoxication even when they are consumed in large quantities. Further more it is normally impossible to use them for intoxication.


    *That DOESNOT mean drinking wine, gin, beers, whiskey would be Halal. They are clearly meant for intoxication and used for vain purposes.

    _______________________________________________

    I have consulted some ulema on this issue and I await their reply. To be on cautious side, I am eating chapatis and rotis. They are easier on the tummy than those roghni naans or pateers to be honest.
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2020
  2. Juwayni

    Juwayni Well-Known Member

  3. Juwayni

    Juwayni Well-Known Member

    Wa Alaykum as Salam

    Not an answer but one should note we are not adding ethanol to the mix. Its part of a mixture that emerges from the fermenting process, but it doesn't dominate the mixture such that the whole mixture becomes an intoxicant.

    The question really comes down to:
    • Do we take a quantitative approach in determining the ḥillat of mixtures or substances that don't involve adding intoxicants, even if there is a trace amount produced in fermentation?
    • If not, then do we take a qualitative approach where we look at the general properties of the mixture (as a whole, does it intoxicate in small or large quantities)?
     
  4. SaadSohail

    SaadSohail Active Member

    Assalamu alaikum,

    1) What do the ulema say regarding the use of Yeast (Khameer) in bread (Naan) making? Khameer leads to softening and raising of the dough during baking, however byproducts of Yeast, water and sugar leads to production of "Ethanol" a process known as fermentation. While it is true that baking or heating leads to evaporation of ethanol. However smaller quantities do remain behind. This bread (Naan, Roghni, Pateer, Kulcha) are commonly consumed by the awam in Pakistan. What is the ruling regarding the consumption of such a bread?

    2) Likewise a lot of food products in the market, go through fermentation process during production, which results in ethanol production as a byproduct such as naturally brewed soya sauce. What is the ruling regarding the consumption of such products?
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2019

Share This Page